Tags

, , , ,

This is largely unrelated, but I’m really proud of myself, I caught my limit yesterday!  Look forward to some more trout recipes next week!!!

I had to fight the ducks to get them to leave my trout alone!

Now, on to today’s topic: Before my honey was an American-hero of a fireman, (You know, saving baby deer from wildfires and such.) he worked for many years, in both high school and college, on a Bay Area construction crew, on which Caucasians like himself were a vast racial minority.  From spending so much time on a mainly Mexican crew, he now possesses the skills of swearing like a Mexican construction worker and eating entire jars of pickled jalapenos in a single sitting.

I, on the other hand, studied Spanish in the classroom for eight years, was on and off with a charming, yet non-committal Spaniard throughout college, and spent a summer eating and drinking my way through Madrid.  I admit it, I speak Spanish with a noticeable Castillian lisp.  Needless to say, although my fireman and I are both nearly fluently in Spanish, it is very very different in both slang, grammar and accent.  On one notable occasion, I embarrassed the ba-jesus out of him when ordering ‘cho-ri-tho’ in our local Mexican restaurant, and was subjected to much (good-natured) ridicule and impersonations of my silly accent.

I recently got a good deal on some chorizo, re-sparking our little debate over the pronunciation of this pork-tastic sausage.  Really, there is a huge difference between Mexican ‘cho-ri-so’ and Spanish ‘cho-ri-tho;’ with the former being a loose, fine ground sausage with spices and oozing with fantastic red mystery grease and the latter being a hard sausage flavored mainly with pimenton (smokey Spanish paprika) and garlic.  Both are different and delicious, like a studly Mexican vaquero pulling you onto his horse and riding off together into the desert sunset and a suave Spanish Antonio Banderas type pouring you a big glass of sangria at the end of a long day.  But, I digress…

Cheesy Chorizo Hash

Serves 2 – cost approx $1.53 per serving

Ingredients

  • 10 oz roll of Mexican chorizo ($.99)
  • 1 lb russet potatoes, unpeeled 1/2 inch dice ($.25)
  • 12 oz sweet potatoes/yams, peeled 1/2 inch dice – the orange ones ($.50)
  • 1 lg onion, sliced ($.20)
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 Tbs jalapenos, minced – Use more or less depending on your taste!
  • 1 cup/ 4 oz frozen corn ($.25)
  • 1 tsp oregano – mine came fresh from my garden!
  • 1 cup shredded mild cheese ($.62)
  • salt

Preheat your oven to 425F.  Begin my browning the chorizo in an oven friendly pan (I used my cast iron, I love it!!!) over medium heat.  Par cook your potatoes and sweet potatoes till they’re about half way cooked, I microwaved mine because I was short on time, you could also bake or boil them.  Remove the sausage when it is cooked, leaving the red grease in the pan.  Add the onions and saute, when they are translucent add the garlic and jalapenos.  After a few minutes, add the frozen corn, par cooked potatoes and sweet potatoes, oregano and reserved sausage.  Mix everything together and season to taste.  Now pop it all in the oven for 10 – 15 minutes, letting everything get a little brown, then top with the cheese and return to the oven for another 5-10 minutes or until the cheese gets melted and bubbly.  Enjoy!

Before your masterpiece goes in the oven…

All done!

 

