Tags

, , , , ,

This week, I had on hand both some of that de-lish jerk chicken and a few cans of condensed soup (very cheap, thank you to my coupons!) and of it this casserole was born.  I wanted to make an ethnic twist on a classic, American casserole and I think this one is a definite a success.  I chose to swap the broccoli that is traditional in a Divan Casserole for cauliflower because I know, from enjoying a healthy amount of Indian food, that it pairs nicely with curry and spices.  It helps that cauliflower was also on sale this week at my local discount grocery store.  This casserole is full of vegetables and fairly healthy, as far as casserole is concerned.

I served this flavorful casserole with some yummy cilantro lime rice, much like the rice I like so much from Chipotle.  I prepared brown, long-grain rice in a rice cooker with the juice and zest of one lime added.  After the rice was cooked, I tossed it with a handful of minced cilantro and some salt.  Easy-peasy!

Jamaican Chicken Divan Casserole –served with cilantro lime rice

Serves 4 – cost approx $.87 per serving, cost per $1.11 serving including rice

  • 2 Tbs bacon grease or vegetable oil
  • 1 onion, medium dice ($.09)
  • 1/4 head of cauliflower, cut into small florets and the stalk cut to medium dice ($.46)
  • 2 carrots, medium dice ($.22)
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • salt and pepper – to taste
  • 2 scallions ($.17)
  • 9 oz cooked chicken, cubed or shredded ($.56)
  • 1 cup frozen corn ($.25)
  • 1 can condensed cream of chicken soup ($.79)
  • 1 tsp curry powder
  • 1/4 cup mayonaise ($.25)
  • 1 tsp dijon mustard
  • 1 tsp soy sauce
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar ($.42)
  • 1 cup bread crumbs

Preheat the oven to 375 F and grease a 9″ x 13″ baking pan; I usually use either spray oil or the wrappers from sticks of butter to grease pans.  Heat the bacon grease or veg oil in a large saute pan.  Cook the onion, cauliflower and carrots for 5 minutes; add in the garlic and saute another 2 minutes.  Season lightly with salt and pepper.  Remove from the heat and stir in the scallions, chicken and corn.  Spread the chicken and vegetable mix into the prepared pan.

In a separate bowl, stir together the condensed soup, curry powder, mayo, dijon and soy sauce.  Spread this mix evenly over the chicken mixture in the prepared pan.  Lastly, mix the shredded cheddar and bread crumbs and spread over the top of the goodies.  I find that mixing an equal mix of shredded cheese and bread crumbs and then topping my casserole and gratin makes for a really nice and crispy topping.  Bake for 20-30 minutes or until the top is golden brown.

G.B.D. = Golden Brown and Delicious!

