Tags

, , ,

I might have mentioned this before, but my Daddy is an awesome fisherman.  He has so much fun planning fishing trips to Alaska and seems to be able to pull trout out of every lake we’ve been to in the Sierras.  Some of my fondest memories are about fishing with my Daddy, from learning how to cast in the front yard with my pink fishing pole when I was six to taking my first trout off the hook completely on my own this past summer.

My Daddy’s prize catch is definitely the 180 lb halibut he caught a few years back in Alaska.  (The picture is still hanging on my fridge, the fish is bigger than him!)  There were also a few more, rather large halibut he caught this summer too.  The fishing group he goes with filets and flash freezes all their fish for them and sends it back home, so needless to say, my family is always looking for good halibut recipes.  I hope this one works for my folks as well as it did for me!

This is a great template recipe for any type of seafood cake; you could substitute any sort of cooked mild white fish (read: what’s on sale), crab or even imitation crab if you’re a vegetarian.  The texture is firm but moist, so nice!  These halibut cakes would be excellent as an appetizer or as a main course with some side dishes.  I served these yummy little fried patties with a simple pasta salad, making my total dinner cost only about $2 for two very hungry people.

Halibut Cakes

Serves 2-3 – cost approx $.41 per serving

Ingredients

  • 8 oz cooked halibut, flaked ($0 if you befriend a fisherman!)
  • 2 ribs celery, very small dice ($.21)
  • 2 scallions, minced ($.10)
  • 1/4 cup parsley, minced
  • 4 Tbs mayonnaise
  • 2 eggs ($.25)
  • salt and black pepper – to taste
  • pinch paprika
  • pinch onion powder
  • 1 cup bread crumbs, divided use
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil ($.17)

Preheat the oven to 350 F.  Mix all ingredients in the first section.  Add half a cup of bread crumbs to thicken the mixture, it should just hold together.  Heat the oil over medium high heat in a heavy saute pan.  Place the remaining half a cup of bread crumbs on a plate.  Form a ball of the halibut mixture about the size of a tangerine or racket ball (I find fruit and sports balls are easy points of reference for sizes in the kitchen…) and roll in the bread crumbs.  Shape the breaded ball into a patty shape.

Gently fry the patties until they are golden on both sides.  Work in small batches as to not crowd the pan and decrease the oil temperature too much.  For me this recipe made 7 halibut cakes.  After frying, remove the patties to a sheet tray and keep warm in the oven while you finish frying the rest of the halibut cakes.  Keep in the oven for about 5 minutes, which is incidentally about how long it will take to put together the dipping sauce.  🙂

Dijonaise Dipping Sauce

Makes approx 1/4 cup – cost $.45

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup mayonnaise ($.25)
  • 1 lemon, divided use ($.20)
  • garlic salt – to taste
  • 1 tsp dijon mustard (or whatever mustard you like!!!)

Halve the lemon, cut up half into slices or wedges for garnishing the halibut cakes and juice the other half.  Mix the mayo, lemon juice, garlic salt and mustard to make the dipping sauce.  Done!

