Tags

, , , ,

My freezer is a nightmare.  It’s very full.  Full of cream cheese that I got on a super sale, full of shredded leftover meats in ‘white trash tupperware,’ full of cubes of various types of stock, full of zipper bags with summer produce…

It occurred to me that the other residents of the house might like to use our freezer too.  So, ‘Operation: Thaw’ has commenced, to restore a little more order and rationality to my little freezer.  Maybe I’m looking at this all wrong though, perhaps the real solution is just to get a chest freezer for the garage.

The most egregious offender in there is certainly the massive amount of blackberries that we picked this summer near Apple Hill, all bagged up in gallon zipper bags.  So, in order to thin the herd a little, I decided to make a super quick and easy cobbler.  I find that a berry cobbler is a fantastic way to remind myself of the summer when it’s a snowy white apocalypse out there.

20121218_201510

This recipe below is a good all purpose steusel, good for coffee cakes, muffins and cobblers.  Use the proportions to make as much or as little of it as you need.  This amount is good for one 9″ x 13″ cobbler.  It’s really hard to estimate the cost for this cobbler; if you were buying berries it would depend a lot the type of berries and whether they are fresh or frozen, because I picked wild berries for free, my cost was probably about $1 for the whole cobbler.  It’s a good thing this cobbler was so budget friendly, my fireman has a bit of a sweet tooth!

My portion vs. a fireman sized portion.  Jeez!

My portion vs. a fireman sized portion. Jeez!

Oatmeal Brown Sugar Streusel

Ingredients

  • 1 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1 cup All Purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • pinch salt
  • 2 Tbs butter, room temperature, cut in small pieces
  • 2 Tbs shortening
  • 2 Tbs vegetable oil

Mix all ingredients in a bowl with a pastry cutter until a loose dough forms.  If your mix looks too dry, add a bit more shortening or vegetable oil.

To make a cobbler, toss frozen or fresh berries with sugar to taste, 1/4 cup flour and whatever spices and seasonings you like.  (I like nutmeg!)  Pour into a baking dish and top with the streusel.  Bake at 375 F for 25 minutes, or until golden.

DSCN3774

