Tags

, , , ,

DSCN3892

Happy 2013!  How are your resolutions coming?  Mine are just starting to come in, like a nice thick mustache (which I don’t have, because I’m a mustache-free sorta lady, but I like the simile).  I officially kept my resolution from last year of running regularly, I just passed 750 miles this morning!  I’m going to share mine for this year because if I tell the internets then I’ll just have to be good.  🙂

  • I want to keep the house more tidy, the clutter is slowly killing me inside.
  • I want to use obscenities more sparingly and creatively so I can be a more clever and poignant sort of potty-mouth.
  • I want to make more time for friends and family.

Having to work over a considerable portion of the last few weeks has made all of those resolutions pretty difficult, but I was quite happy to make some progress on my last little resolution.

My foodie-soulmate, Sasha, came up for the New Years to enjoy the lovely mountains and, of course, our company, here in Tahoe.  It seems to work out just perfectly; during the day I work and he snowboards, then in the evenings can we leisurely make dinner for the house and other visiting friends.  [*I already miss my fiber-soulmate, Liz, who has hopefully found her way safely back to her crafting nest in North Carolina.*]

I think that the best way to spend time with my loved ones is certainly around the table, and that’s a lot easier when you make something fun like Carnitas Tacos!  When you make customizable meals like this you can please all your friends at once.  If you were to leave the bacon out of the refried beans, your vegetarian friends could make a delicious taco or any vegetable-haters could just as well leave out the fajita veggies and cabbage slaw.

DSCN3890

Carnitas Taco Dinner

Serves 4 – cost approx $1.54 per serving

Carnitas

Ingredients

  • 12 oz pork stew meat ($.75)
  • 1 jalapeno, sliced in half – remove the seeds if you want a more mild spice
  • 3 cloves garlic, smashed
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • salt – to taste
  • 3 Tbs bacon grease, lard or vegetable oil

Combine all in a slow cooker with 4 cups of water, cook until fall apart tender.  (4 hrs on high or all day on low, depending on your slow cooker.)  Remove the chili and garlic, reserve and drain off the liquid then shred the meat.  Heat up whatever fat you like over high heat and fry the shredded pork to crisp up the edges.

DSCN3885

Cabbage Slaw

Ingredients

  • 1/2 head of cabbage, finely shredded – I used mixed red and green cabbages ($.64)
  • 1 lime, zested and juiced ($.25)
  • 1/4 cup cilantro, minced
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • garlic salt – to taste
  • 2 Tbs olive oil

Combine all ingredients, let sit for at 5-10 minuted before eating

DSCN3881

Fajita Veggies – Saute onions, bell peppers and hot peppers.  ($1)

Spanish Rice – Add garlic salt and chili powder to however you like to cook your long grain white rice.  ($.50)

Refried Beans – I used the reserved carnitas liquid to boil my beans then mash them up with some cooked bacon. ($.75)

DSCN3889

Tacos! With all the fixin’s and good friends! Life is good.

Fixin’s! ($2)

  • Tortillas
  • Diced tomato
  • Avocado
  • Hot Sauce
  • Mexican beer (kindly provided by my Sasha!)
  • Whatever YOU like!

Addendum:  My Almost-Mother-In-Law, had a great idea for the blog: Cabbage!  Unless you have an abnormally large or hungry family, a whole head of cabbage is rarely used up in one meal, so it’s good to have a few cabbage recipes that use different flavors or techniques so that you don’t have a cabbage burn out.  Seeing as the lovely Liz left me a red cabbage and I bought a green one, you can expect to see some cabbage recipes this coming week!

