Tags

, , , , ,

DSCN4781

My recent obsession with sauerkraut has been a source of humor around the house lately.  Not that I blame them, the sight of a tiny Asian girl, standing on a stool, up to her elbows in cabbage must be rather humorous.

I fully expected to hate everything about sauerkraut, but it’s been slowly growing on me in the last couple years.  It all began when my Mother-in-law (whose family is of German descent) served me some red cabbage sauerkraut the one and only time I’ve been camping.  Much to my surprise, I kinda liked it!  (Both camping and sauerkraut.)  As I got into canning and preserving, I found out that sauerkraut isn’t pickled in my least favorite food product, vinegar, it’s actually fermented.  This fall I came across a good sale on cabbage and embarked on the homemade sauerkraut adventure.  Now that I’ve got my first batch of sauerkraut canned up and hanging out in the shed and the second batch fermenting away, I’m trying to incorporate sauerkraut into everything!

I hope you all like this recipe as much as I do!  It’s a lot of fun and incorporates all those great German hofbrau flavors in a new and exciting way.

DSCN4772

German Sausage and Apple Flatbread

Serves 2-3 – cost approx $1.15 per serving

Ingredients

  • 1 ball pizza dough (since mine was home made it was only $.50, you can find fresh or frozen pizza dough at most grocery stores for a few bucks)
  • 1 Tbs Dijon mustard, or your favorite mustard
  • 1/4 cup milk or half and half ($.05)
  • 1 cup sauerkraut ($.16)
  • 1 long, 7 oz, smoked sausage, thinly sliced (I got turkey smoked sausage on sale for just $.37)
  • 2 Tbs minced parsley
  • 1/2 granny smith apple, thinly sliced ($.30)
  • 1 cup Swiss cheese, shredded ($1.25)

Preheat your oven to 375 F.  Stretch out the pizza dough with your hands to fill a regular size cookie sheet.  Mix the dijon and milk together and paint the entire pizza dough with a pastry brush.  Layer up all your other ingredients, ending with the Swiss cheese.

DSCN4762

Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until the whole she-bang is golden brown.  See?

What a beautiful before and after!

What a beautiful before and after!

