Tags

, , , , , , , ,

It is finally time for my grill to emerge from it’s wintery cocoon that is the shed and be used in all it’s glory!!!

Well, maybe my grill isn’t such a beautiful butterfly.  It’s actually a twice handed- down relic from my family’s cabin that’s seen better days, but it certainly gets the job done!  We had a lovely little cook out with my roommate and her sweetie, thanks to the gorgeous marinaded tri-tip that my In-Laws brought me on their visit last weekend.  That was certainly a treat for us and outside of my normal ‘budget-cooking-challenge’ that I subject myself to, but I made a nice rice salad that would be a perfect accompaniment with any outdoor dining experience.  It is nice cold, but can be eaten at room temperature and doesn’t require any short term refrigeration, so it would be perfectly happy out on your picnic or bloc party buffet table or at a barbecue party.  It would also be a kind dish to bring to an indoor pot-luck event because it doesn’t take up any space in your host’s fridge or need to bake in their oven.

DSCN5068

To be honest, I’ve never eaten a salad with ‘Green Goddess’ dressing, but I understand that it gets it’s green-ness from avocados, and my little rice salad is quite green and has avocados, so I thought the name to be fun and somewhat fitting.   I hope y’all like it!

Green Goddess Rice Salad

Serves 6 – cost approx $.34 per serving

Ingredients

  • 2 cups rice, cooked however you find it easiest to do (I like the rice cooker!) then cooled ($.47)
  • 1/2 cup minced herbs of your choosing! – I used scallions from my window garden and some parsley ($.25)
  • 2 mini Persian cucumbers or 1/2 regular cucumber, small diced – Thanks Mrs. W for the farmer’s market cucumbers! ($.25)
  • 1 avocado, small diced ($.50)
  • salt, to taste
  • 1/4 cup Extra Virgin Olive Oil or a flavored oil – ($.33)
  • 2 Tbs Apple Cider Vinegar

Mix all ingredients.  Taste your concoction and adjust the seasonings to taste.  Refrigerate until you want to serve your meal/head out to your picnic.

An important thing to know is that cold foods require more salt than warm foods to make them not taste bland.  So, if you were in too much of a rush to fully cool your rice before mixing everything (like I was), give it a final taste when it’s fully cooled  and before you serve to make sure it’s just right.

DSCN5064

Update: The leftovers were a great lunch with a fried egg on top!

