Tags

, ,

As often happens towards the end of the week, I’m sitting in front of my fridge wondering what the hell I’m going to feed myself and my fireman out of the strange odds and ends there are sitting in my fridge.  The random tidbits presenting today’s challenge were a chunk of tri-tip from our cook out, 8 corn tortillas, a bunch of herbs, and a scoop of sour cream.  That’s sounds like it could turn into promising tacos, if it weren’t for the dwindling number of tortillas.  And then the light bulb went off: tostadas!

DSCN5083

I’m relying big-time on my pantry to round out the rest of this meal.  Luckily, refried beans usually go on tostadas and y’all know that I’m a big fan of dried beans.  The only veggies hanging out in my crisper are your basic mirepoix, so I made a little carrot and celery spicy slaw/salad thing to top my tostadas.  It’s something really new and fun to do with your boring, old vegetable staples!

Carne Asada Toastadas

Serves 2 – cost approx $1.40 per serving

Ingredients

  • 1/2 lb leftover tri-tip, sliced thin ($0 thanks to my awesome In-Laws for the meat-treat!)
  • 8 corn tortillas, crisped up in the oven ($.23)
  • 2 cups refried beans – canned beans or canned refried beans would be a quick shortcut here, I just cooked up some dried beans and mashed them with veggie stock and garlic salt for a healthier option ($.50)
  • 1 avocado, thinly sliced ($.50)
  • 1 lime, zest and juice used separately ($.25)
  • 1/2 cup sour cream ($.25)
  • 4 carrots ($.20)
  • 4 ribs celery ($.30)
  • 1/2 cup mixed herbs, minced – I used cilantro and green onions ($.25)
  • 1 jalapeno, minced
  • 4 cloves garlic minced
  • salt or garlic salt, to taste
  • 1/4 cup olive oil ($.31)

To make a nice lime sour cream sauce mix the lime zest and sour cream with a pinch of salt.  Done, easy peasy.

To make the veggie slaw, use a veggie peeler to make thin shreds/peels out of the carrots and celery.  Put into an ice bath so that the veggies get firm and curl up.  Heat the olive oil and saute the garlic and jalapeno for 2 minutes or so, just enough to take the raw edge off.  Scrape the chili, garlic and oil into a small bowl and make into a little dressing by whisking in the lime juice and salt to taste.  Drain the veggie curls and mix with your dressing to finish the slaw.  Keep refrigerated until you’re ready to eat.

DSCN5071

Now it’s time to mix and match your ingredients on top of your crispy tortillas and dig in!

DSCN5073

