Tags

, , , , ,

DSCN5120

I just love the word ‘spatchcock!’  I know, I have a fixation on funny sounding words.  Its quite frequently that I’m found by my friends, saying a word that sounds silly a few times in a row and giggling to myself.  But, not only is ‘spatchcocking’ funny to say, it’s a wonderful time saver for cooking whole chickens.

#1: Using your awesome KITCHEN ONLY shears or poultry shears, cut out the back bone like so. (Thanks Santa for the bitchin’ poultry shears, they work great!  How did Santa know I broke my last kitchen shears on Thanksgiving?)  Sprinkle salt on the inside of your bird and save that bone for making stock!

DSCN5102

#2: Flip that bird over and break the breast bone by pushing on it like you were giving it CPR.  The goal is to flatten it into one, more even surface.

DSCN5103#3:  Lay down a bed of potatoes and veggies, sprinkle the whole she-bang with some salt.  Roast at 375 F for 45-60 minutes or until done, basting occasionally with your favorite marinade/dressing.

DSCN5104

Mediterranean Lemon Marinade – great for veggies, poultry or both!

Ingredients

  • 1 lemon, zest and juice ($.50)
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • salt, to taste
  • crushed red pepper, to taste
  • 1/2 tsp dry oregano
  • 1/4 cup veg oil or olive oil ($.31)

DSCN5108

Mix all ingredients thoroughly.  I used this mixture to baste a pan of veggies and a spatchcocked chicken for a great, “one-dish” meal that serves 4-6 people at $1.64 per serving.  Here’s what I used.

  • 2 lb potatoes, medium dice ($.31)
  • 1 zucchini, large dice ($.50)
  • 4 carrots, medium dice ($.20)
  • 1 lg onion, sliced ($.33)
  • 1 chicken, spatchcocked ($5.78)
