Tags

, , ,

This one is largely inspired by a dish that my adopted Nonna makes, but instead of artichokes, she uses olives.  It’s a great relatively quick dinner that tastes like you spent all day on it.  It would be great with any sort of starch you like, such as a small pasta, potatoes or (like I used) polenta!

DSCN5175

Artichokes are not one of my favorite vegetables.  It think that it’s because my first experiences with them were the canned variety.  This happened to me with beets, but I have overcome my adversity to beets.  I’m starting to appreciate artichokes though.  I think they’re quite delicious but I can’t get over how expensive they are plus how much work they require for so little edible parts!  But, everyone I love seems to really like artichokes so I will endeavor to persevere.

I got two lovely artichokes as a little present from my In-Laws on their last visit, so I trimmed up the hearts and plopped them into some lemon water to keep them from browning.  If you don’t want brown artichokes, lemon water is essential!

DSCN5170

Pollo con Carciofi

Serves 4 with a side – cost approx $.94 per serving

Ingredients

  • 1 Tbs olive oil
  • 2 chicken legs, separated into leg and thigh ($1.25)
  • 2 artichokes, trimmed and thinly sliced ($0, a gift from some awesome In-Laws!)
  • 1 small onion, thinly sliced ($.21)
  • 2 garlic cloves, smashed
  • 1/4 cup sun dried tomatoes, sliced ($.25)
  • 1/2 cup white wine ($.33)
  • crushed red pepper, to taste
  • salt, to taste
  • a pinch dry sage
  • a pinch dry oregano
  • 1 cup chicken stock
  • Starchy sides of your choosing – I served up polenta and a loaf of bread ($1.50)

This recipe is really simple!  Just heat the olive oil in a large saute pan sprinkled the chicken with some salt and then brown the chicken pieces on all sides.  Add in the sliced artichokes, garlic and onion and saute along side the chicken for 5 minutes.  Add in the sun dried tomatoes and wine.  Allow the wine to reduce almost completely then add in all remaining ingredients.

Simmer for 20-30 minutes, or until the liquid is reduced by half and the chicken is fully cooked.  If it looks like your liquid is reducing too quickly, partially cover the pan.  Taste and adjust the seasonings, then serve the braised chicken over your choice of yummy sides to soak up all that great braising liquid!

DSCN5180

