Tags

, , ,

I had my birthday last week and the Fishing Gods were kind enough to grant me a bit of luck on a ‘Daddy-Daughter’ trip to the lake.

photo 4We almost caught our limit of gorgeous rainbow trout; we would have come home with ten trout, but one broke the leader and jumped out of my Daddy’s hands as we were trying to get it off the line.  I watched him swim away, was thankful it was one of the little ones and shouted at it “Enjoy your life, you lucky bastard!  And tell your fishy friends of our furious blood-lust!”

I felt like treating myself and my fireman to a fancy trout dinner that also turned out to be a piece of cake to make too.  I learned to make salt crusted fish on internship in Tuscany, it’s simple to prepare and a fantastic preparation.  I would have preferred to leave the heads on the fish, but they were (sorry, I have to brag) too big to fit in the plastic bags.  This one is a great recipe to keep in mind for fancy dinners or company, it’s so easy and delicious yet impressive.  Just add some roasted potatoes and veggies and you have a full meal that you made entirely in the oven, no need to dirty any thing but a few cookie sheets!

DSCN5376

Salt Crusted Trout –served with roasted potatoes and vegetables

Serves as many people as you caught fish for – costs less than $1 per serving total

Ingredients

  • Fresh round fish – anything you like, lake bass, sea bass, trout!
  • 1 box rock salt – may be labled as ‘ice cream salt’ ($1.79)
  • salt and black pepper
  • 1-2 cloves of garlic per fish

This dish couldn’t be easier to prepare!  Preheat your oven to 400F.  Clean your fishies and pat them dry, sprinkle the cavity of the fish with a little salt and a fair amount of pepper and stuff with a garlic clove or two.  Lay them on a sheet tray side by side and pack the rock salt all around the fish like so.  You only have to make the salt layer about 1/4 inch thick.

DSCN5366Bake for 15 – 20 minutes for a few trout.  It you’re feeding a crowd, you may want to up the time to about 30 minutes.  This steams the fish and seasons it perfectly, trust me, it’s not too salty! Let cool then crack the salt off the fishies and serve.  Make sure to remove all the rock salt, it’s rather unpleasant to eat.  You’ll find that any salt sticking to the skin or cavity will come off when you remove the skin and bones on your plate.

DSCN5369

