My fireman has been off working in Oregon for the last two weeks or so and I’ve been subsiding off de-frosted leftovers, mac and cheese, and lots of bread…  Hello, my name is Lauren, and I’m a carb-aholic.

Out of my carb-athon came this great dish that I thought I’d share with y’all.  I saw the idea for this ‘one-dish-pasta’ in a Martha Stewart magazine earlier this year and didn’t have the chance to try it until I was ‘cooking for one’ while my honey was away.  Really, only one dish!  You just put veggies, herbs, water and pasta in a large saute pan and let it all simmer together.  I had my doubts, but it actually works!  I tweaked the method a little bit to get some better flavor out of the dish and it’s pretty awesome for a quick and easy dinner.  There’s only one pan to wash and it makes a lovely little sauce because you’re essentially cooking it all in that yummy pasta water.

This dish is perfect bachelorette-food, low maintenance by still a bit classy.

DSCN5428

One Pan Pasta

Serves 1-2 – cost approx $.79 per serving

Ingredients

  • 2 Tbs butter
  • 1/2 onion, thinly sliced ($.10)
  • 2 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
  • salt, to taste
  • crushed red pepper, to taste
  • 1/2 lb pasta ($.45)
  • 2 Tbs fresh herbs, minced – I used sage and thyme
  • 1 nice tomato, diced ($.38)
  • parmesan cheese

Start by heating up the butter in a large saute pan, brown the onion and the garlic and season with the salt and red pepper.  Add in 2 cups of water and the pasta.  Bring to a boil and simmer, stirring frequently.  When the water is almost all the way absorbed add in the herbs and diced tomato and test the pasta to see how done it is.  Add water, a little bit at a time (you can always add more, it’s harder to take it out!) and stir frequently until the pasta is al dente and the water is absorbed.  Sprinkle with parmesan.  Done!

