Tags

, ,

So, I’ve been officially blogging for a year now!  Happy birthday little blog, hope there’s many more to come!  Now, on to the food: allonsy!

I wasn’t going to post this recipe, but my fireman was so enthusiastic about it, I thought I’d share.  He made me take this (terribly dark) picture to show how much he liked it…

DSCN5467While these glammed up hot-dogs were absolutely delicious and spot-hitting now that the season for game-day eats is upon us, it’s not my usual kind of recipe to post.  It’s really simple and easy, in fact, there’s no real recipe involved.  I hope you all like it!

Hotlinks with Sauerkraut and Swiss in a Pretzel Bun

Makes 6 – cost approx $.67 per serving

Ingredients

  • 6 pretzel hot dog buns – I tried out the ‘Soft Beer Pretzels’ recipe from the latest issue of Taste of Home, and it was easy and delicious! Here’s the link! http://www.tasteofhome.com/Recipes/Soft-Beer-Pretzels ($1.40)
  • 6 sausages or hotlinks – whatever you like! ($.99)
  • 1 Tbs butter
  • 1 onion, thinly sliced ($.20)
  • 2 cups sauerkraut – I canned up a bunch when cabbage went on sale around St. Patty’s Day ($.50)
  • 3 slices Swiss, halved ($.65)

Preheat the oven to 375 F.  In a large saute pan, melt the butter and brown up the sliced onions, season with a pinch of salt.  Add in the sausages and brown them up too.  Add in the sauerkraut and warm through.  Split the pretzel buns and stuff with a sausage and some sauerkraut, top with a half a slice of cheese.  Once all they’re all assembled, pop them into the oven to melt the cheese, 3-5 minutes.  Serve with mustard, and maybe a beer.  Yum!

DSCN5459

