Tags

, , , ,

I’ve been, shall we say, ’embracing the frugal lifestyle’ for a few years now and because I’ve been doing it for so long, my head is full of reference prices for almost everything that usually inhabits my kitchen.  Both ‘average/acceptable’ prices and ‘Holy crap! Time to stock up!’ prices.  That is the absolute best, coupon-free, way to keep your budget in check; if you keep an eye out for when the things you and your family eat go on sale and stock up then it will make an incredible impact on your budget.

A few weeks ago, I found one of those good deals at my local big grocery store: sweet corn at six ears for $1.  (For me, this deal falls somewhere ‘good’ and ‘holy crap!’)  So I got a few dollars worth to put up, and putting up roasted corn couldn’t be easier!  Just shuck the corn and grill it until it looks nicely roasted and light brown almost all over.  Then cut the corn off the cob and spread it out onto a cookie sheet lined with a piece of plastic wrap.  (Spreading it out in a single layer keeps it from being a big, ugly clump later.)  Freeze for 8 hours or overnight.  When it’s all frozen, you can lift up the plastic wrap and dump it all into a zip-top bag and you have delicious roasted corn at your disposal whenever you want.

This roasted corn salsa is a quick and easy condiment for any sort of Latin or Tex-Mex meal.  I served it with my mock-Chipotle rice and bean bowls and it was quite tasty.  Hope you like it!

DSCN5556Roasted Corn and Mango Salsa

Makes about 2 cups – cost approx $.80

Ingredients

  • 1 cup roasted corn, frozen or fresh ($.17)
  • 1/2 onion, minced ($.15)
  • serrano chili, minced – to taste
  • 1/2 lime’s juice ($.10)
  • 1/2 mango, minced ($.13, I found a great sale on mangos, 4 for $1!)
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • salt

Mix together the corn, onion, chili, lime juice and mango.  (If your corn is frozen, set it in a warm part of your kitchen, I use the back of my range or an unused burner, to thaw while you’re making the rest of your meal.)  Gather your minced garlic into a tidy little pile on your cutting board and sprinkle a healthy pinch of salt on top.  Use the flat of your knife to smoosh the garlic and salt into a paste.  Mix the salty garlic paste into the salsa.  Let sit for 15 minutes or so to let the flavors meld, then taste and add salt if it needs it.  Simiple, no?  It’s spicy, sweet a bit from the mango and oh-so-colorful!

DSCN5547

