Tags

, , , , ,

DSCN5844 I’m pretty sure that I saw a picture of something like this on Pinterest and that’s where the inspiration for this dish came from.  I love how the soft sweet potatoes pair with the spicy and flavorful filling.  It’s an exciting and colorful vegetarian dish that’s warm and filling too.  Also, I was quite pleased that my fireman dubbed this one ‘the best sweet potato dish he has ever had.’  I’ll take it!

*Note: I made this recipe with twice as many black beans, but it made a bit too much filling.  So I reduced the black beans in the recipe to make it a little more balanced.  Don’t be frightened if your looks a little different, it should be just as tasty, I promise!*

Tex-Mex Stuffed Sweet Potatoes

Serves 4 – cost approx $1.19 per serving

Ingredients

  • 2 Tbs vegetable oil
  • 1/2 onion, diced ($.18)
  • 1/2 bell pepper, died ($.45)
  • 4 cloves minced garlic
  • 1 jalapeno, minced ($.25)
  • 2 Tbs minced herbs, I used green onions, but parsley and cilantro would be nice too.  ($.25)
  • 1 cup corn kernels, frozen or fresh ($.23)
  • 1 cup black beans ($.25)
  • salt, to taste
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1 lime, zest and juice ($.20)
  • 1 cup queso fresco, crumbled ($0 because I had a friend who gave up dairy and gave me a few pounds of cheese she didn’t want anymore; it pays for your friends to know you are a resourceful and thrifty cook!)
  • 3 lbs sweet potatoes, baked ($2.69)

Preheat your oven to 375 F. (And make sure you bake your sweet potatoes first, it takes about an hour or so depending on their size.)

Start making the filling by heating the vegetable oil in saute pan and cooking the onion, bell pepper, garlic and jalapeno for 5 minutes or until the veggies are soft and fully cooked.  Add all the remaining ingredients except the sweet potatoes to complete the filling.  Taste and adjust the seasonings if necessary.

Split the sweet potatoes and put them on a baking sheet then pack them full of the filling.  Bake them about 15 minutes to heat all the way through and brown up the queso fresco a bit.  Enjoy!

DSCN5846

