Tags

,

DSCN5856 When I was a teenager, I worked in a rock climbing gym where I was the token girl amongst my all my co-workers.  The guys I worked with became the older brothers that this only-child never had, complete with threats of being given a swirly and stuffed in a trash can…

Every year for Christmas, I would spend an whole day making cookies to bring in to all the boys.  Invariably, they would accuse me of burning the cookies with mouths full and crumbs down the front of their sweatshirts.  There was one boy that I had a crush on for a little while (no, not THAT one!) who said my Mamma’s recipe for Pineapple Cookies were his favorite.  While my cookies never wound their way into my friend’s heart, and my teenage affections soon found another interest, I always made sure to bring him a batch every Christmas.

These cookies are light and cake-like without being too sweet.  They’re so different from your standard chocolate chip, they’re sure to stand out in the sea of boring sugar cookies this coming holiday season!

DSCN5863Pineapple Cookies

Makes approx 2 dozen – cost approx $1.73 per batch

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup shortening ($.25)
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar ($.25)
  • 1/2 cup sugar ($.25)
  • 1 20 oz can crushed pineapple, drained – use the juice for something else, or a maybe a cocktail! ($.40)
  • 1 egg ($.13)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups flour ($.20)
  • pinch salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda

Preheat your oven to 350 F.  In the bowl of a mixer, cream the shortening and two sugars with the paddle attachment, about 3 minutes.  Mix in the drained pineapple, egg and vanilla.  Sift the dry ingredients together then stir into the batter until just combined.  Drop in large spoonfuls onto a baking sheet and cook 12-15 minutes at 350 F or until golden and perfect.  Enjoy!

