Hello Internets!

I took some time off to get hitched and have my fireman whisk me away to Europe for our honeymoon.  I had a wonderful time, I got to marry the best guy in the world, see some sights and eat a ton of delicious things!

48

Here’s us how we really look/act…

Here's us with gratuitous professional help, if you're having an event in the Mendocino area Tammie Gilchrist is a FANTASTIC photographer, obviously...

Here’s us with gratuitous professional help, if you’re having an event in the Mendocino area Tammie Gilchrist is a FANTASTIC photographer, obviously…

Now that we’re back home in our cozy nest in the mountains it’s time to get back into our normal lives and for me that means budget cooking!

For one my my first dinners back home I wanted to test out my new rice cooker (It’s awesome, thanks Uncle Larry!) so I made up a big batch of dumplings to go with some steamed rice.  Ground turkey was the only meat I had in the freezer, and let’s be honest here, ground turkey sucks.  It’s bland and boring but it’s just so healthy…

A big, spicy kick of Kim Chi flavor is just what ground turkey needs to make it tasty.  This dumpling filling would be delicious in any type of dumpling, from a fried pot sticker to a steamed shu mai style dumpling.  I tried both ways and it was quite tasty!

IMG_0414

Kim Chi Turkey Dumplings – with steamed rice

Serves 4-5 – cost approx $1.26 per serving

Ingredients

  • 1 lb ground turkey ($1.66)
  • 1 cup bread crumbs ($0 if homemade!)
  • 2 eggs ($.28)
  • 1 Tbs minced ginger
  • 1 cup kim chi, finely diced ($1.50 – I’m just guessing here…)
  • 1/2 bunch scallions minced ($.25)
  • salt, to taste
  • 1 pkg wonton/dumpling wrappers ($.99)
  • Steamed rice ($.75)

This is a complicated recipe, so pay attention.  Mix all the ingredients in the first set to make the dumpling filling.  Make a little taster bite and cook it up to check the seasonings, add more salt if necessary.

IMG_0408

Wrap up about a teaspoon of filling in each dumpling, however you see fit.  Steam, boil, or fry your dumplings (it will take about 10-15 minutes to fully cook them) and serve with rice and your favorite dipping sauce.

IMG_0409

 

P.S. This recipe made so many dumplings that I had a few extra; so I froze them up for a quick dinner for one.  We’ll see how they thaw out!

