Tags

, , , , ,

IMG_0501

Every year, for my roomie’s birthday I make her some sort of strawberries and cream flavored dessert.  Most of the time it’s shortcake, but this year it’s trifle!  I was all inspired by this recipe from the wonderful Taste of Home!

http://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/strawberry-lemon-trifle

Soooooooooo yummy.  Lemon pudding, angel food cake, macerated strawberries and whipped cream!  God Bless the wedding registry, I love my trifle dish!

IMG_0500

Celebrations are for indulgence, not saving money.  I used all the good stuff here, whipping cream, fresh berries, homemade angel food cake!  I trust that you, wonderful reader, can figure out how to assemble a trifle.  Here’s a little recipe for lemon pudding if you, like me, are adverse to the box stuff.

Lemon Pudding

Makes 3-4 cups – cost approx $2.09 per batch

Ingredients

  • 1 cup whole milk ($.22)
  • 2 cups half and half ($.95)
  • a scant 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 2 eggs ($.28)
  • 1/2 cup sugar ($.14)
  • zest of one lemon ($.25)
  • yellow food coloring, optional

Mix everything together in a sauce pot and put over low heat.  Bring to a gentle simmer, stirring constantly.  When all thick and bubbly, pass everything through a fine mesh strainer.  Chill and enjoy!

