Tags

, , , , ,

It’s not often that my first tries at a new recipe go really well, but I have hope for this one!  I used another pound of lentils from my box to make up some lentil veggie burger patties and they were pretty darn good.  They’re still not absolutely perfect, but they’ll do for now and I can feel the potential residing in their little, lentil-filled, hearts.

My fireman helped me taste-test this recipe as I was tweaking the spices and adjusting the seasonings and he gives this one his manly-man seal of approval.

IMG_0499

Don’t get me wrong, the man would rather have a porterhouse, but seeing as we’re saving money, there’s gonna be a few more meatless Mondays than steak dinners around here.  That being said, he liked the both the taste and texture of this veggie burger and said it was one of the best veggie patties he’s ever had.  Homemade Sriracha aioli didn’t hurt though.  I’ve found that putting some pizzazz into a side or sauce that I know he’ll really like (and I’ll like too!) goes a long way to make a vegetarian meal into more of something special and less of a sacrifice.

Plus, homemade mayo/aioli is THE proverbial shit.  If you need any further inspiration to making your own mayo, check out this article from a way cooler blogger than me:  http://foodisthebestshitever.wordpress.com/2014/03/12/how-to-make-mayonnaise-with-the-mayonnaise-nazi/

IMG_0495

Lentil Veggie Burgers – Slider patties on potato rolls with Sriracha aoili and Honey Lime Slaw

Serves 6-8 – cost approx $.26 per serving!  About $1 per serving with sides and fixin’s

Ingredients

  • 1 cup oats or oat flour ($.15)
  • 1 lb cooked lentils – should be cooked through but not mushy ($1 in most discount grocery stores)
  • 3 large or 4 small eggs ($.42)
  • garlic salt, to taste
  • 4-6 Tbs soy sauce or Worchestershire sauce – I used equal portions of each, but stick to soy if you’re wanting to go strictly vegetarian because Worry Sauce has anchovies in it…
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • pinch paprika

Break out your food processor and first pulse up the oats until it’s mostly flour-like.  It’s ok if there’s still some larger pieces.  Dump the oats out into a large bowl.  Next, put in the lentils and pulse them a few times, without mixing.  You’re looking for the bottom to get almost fully pureed but for there to still be some larger pieces on the top; this lends to a good, meat-like texture.  Scrape the lentils in with the oats.

Add all the remaining ingredients and stir until homogeneous.  Make a little taster bite and saute up about a tablespoon of the mix to see if the seasonings are to your liking.  Wet your hands and form up some patties.  This batch will make about two dozen sliders or a dozen full size veggie patties.  You can freeze the patties for later too!  I tested out a batch and they went straight from the freezer to the griddle perfectly.

It helps to roughly divide the patties in the bowl before digging your paws in, like so:

IMG_0478

These burger patties can get cooked up on a griddle, like so:

IMG_0482

I do not recommend you put them on a outdoor grill (trust me, I know from experience) but they can most certainly be put on a grill pan for a more traditional burger-look, like so:

IMG_0535

Or probably you could bake these little guys too…

Here’s the sides that I served my little sliders with for a total meal cost of about $1 per serving, seriously, my sides cost way more than my main protein!  Let’s hear it for lentils!

IMG_0491

How could you not love something so colorful!?!

  • Potato rolls ($.50 for a homemade dozen)
  • Honey Lime Slaw – a really simple slaw, it’s just 1/4 cabbage shredded up, a few shredded carrots, 1/2 bunch cilantro, salt to taste, a drizzle of honey and half a lime ($1)
  • Sriracha Aioli – stir in Sriracha hot sauce, a squirt of lemon juice, a minced garlic clove and some minced parsley into a cup of (preferrably homemade) mayo.  ($.50)
  • 1 sliced avocado ($.50)
  • Oven fries ($.50)
