Tags

, , ,

Whhhaaaaat?!?!  I know that something like this is what comes to mind whenever the word “meat” is in quotations:

chickenBut rest assured, gentle readers, I know exactly what’s in this recipe and I promise you it’s all wholesome vegetarian goodness!

Lentil “Meat” Loaf – served with mashed potatoes

Serves 4 – cost approx $.90 per serving with ‘taters too!

I took a half batch of my lentil burger recipe from last week (https://fullbellyfullwallet.wordpress.com/2014/04/11/lentil-veggie-burgers-the-lentil-adventure-boldly-goes/) and sauteed up half a diced bell pepper and a small onion and mixed that in with the lentil mush.

Then I formed it into a little loaf and baked it in my favorite cast iron pan at 375F for 30-45 minutes basting it with a simple ketchup/bbq sauce mix and, I’ll be damned, it almost looks like the real deal!

IMG_0518Add some mashed potatoes and some ketchup on the side, (if that’s all good and nostalgic for you, like it is for me and my fireman…) and you have yourself a fine vegetarian meal!

IMG_0533

