Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’m flying solo here in the mountains while my Fireman is off fighting the big and yucky (those are technical terms) King Fire.  If you’re in northern California, you probably can’t turn on the local news with out hearing about that bad boy.  Hopefully, they’ll lick it soon.

Now onward to what you came here for, the food.  When I’m just cooking for me, I like to treat myself to things that I don’t get that often, which tend to be breakfast and lunch foods.  While my hubby is around I’ll make us whatever sort of dinner food we’re craving, but we’re so busy during the day I rarely cook traditional breakfast or lunch fare!  On a quite similar note, my sweetie just said in his last phone call that one of the few perks of working the night shift on the fire is that he gets breakfast for dinner every day.  🙂

I just love egg salad, it’s one of the first things my Daddy taught me how to prepare when I was a little girl.  Now that I’m a culinary professional, I felt like I had to jazz it up a bit: home baked bread and hand whipped mayo.  Whaaaaat!?!?  Egg salad is nothing complicated but home made takes this to the next level.

IMG_0851

Egg Salad Hedonism

Makes 3-4 sandwiches – cost approx $.88 per sandwich

Ingredients

  • 6 hard boiled eggs, diced – I used a pastry cutter and it made me feel like a kitchen lifehack genius when in reality I’m just a lazy person who doesn’t own an egg slicer. ($.90)
  • 1/2 cup home made or prepared mayo – I’m not the best teacher for this one, mayo and I have a ‘complicated’ relationship, I’m sure there’s lotsa good advice on the interwebs if you want to learn to make your own. ($.50)
  • salt and black pepper, to taste
  • pinch smoked paprika – I think this is the secret ingredient, I used a Spanish pimenton
  • 1/2 loaf fresh bread – The bread recipe I use is “Pam’s Country Crust” from Southern Living Magazine, it’s a workhorse that I use for everything: monkey bread, sandwich bread, cinnamon rolls…  ($1)

Mix up everything, taste it to adjust the seasonings and smear it on your bread!  Easy money.

IMG_0853

