Tags

, , , , , , , ,

IMG_0867

So, seafood (or would it be called lake-food around these parts?) is expensive!  How does a thrifty cook put a fish dinner on the table for their loved ones?  Aside from the obvious answer (get yourself outside and go fishing!) I would have to recommend befriending fishermen.  This strategy panned out well for me several times in several different ways this summer.

I have a standing arrangement with Fireman Mikey that if he catches enough to feed my Sweetie and I too that I would be happy to cook it up for us all, which lead to a few delicious Makinaw dinners over the summer.  I’ve let my co-workers know that I’m cheap on a budget and they’ve helped me score some sweet fishes too.  A few weeks ago, one of our work-neighbors was overloaded with albacore after a very fortuitous fishing trip up north and was handing packages of fresh tuna like candy at Halloween; my buddies shuttled a few pounds my way. (That’s what got ceviched!)  Also, as a little fringe benefit of working in a restaurant that prepares customer’s fresh catch from the fishing charters out on the lake, I tend to get the bonus fish from when customers bring in a dozen fish but only want dinner for two and have no place to store it in their hotel room.  Lastly, my Daddy had some great luck on a fishing trip to Alaska this year and worked out a deal where that I paid for the shipping I could have all the salmon I could handle.  Which happened to be 50 pounds for just $25!  My chest freezer is getting quite the workout.

I’m pretty sure that nothing makes a fisher-person happier than sharing the bounty of a great day on the water with their loved ones.

On to this cevice.  I’m certainly no expert and I did zero research on the rich tradition of cevice in the Latin cuisine.  I just winged it and it went pretty well.

IMG_0864

Cevice Verde – served with chips

Serves 8-10 as an appetizer – Cost $2.19 per batch/$.25 per serving plus the cost of your seafood.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 lb seafood of your choice, diced – I used albacore tuna, but whatever white fleshed fish or shellfish is on sale would be delicious ($0 if you suck up to your fishing friends!)
  • 1 onion, minced ($.15)
  • 1 jalapeno, seeds removed, minced ($.25)
  • 3 small or 2 large garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 avocado, minced ($.99)
  • 1/2 bunch cilantro, minced
  • 2-3 Tbs lemon juice – 1 lemon’s worth ($.25)
  • 2 limes, both zested, one juiced, one peeled and diced finely ($.20)
  • 2-3 Tbs olive oil
  • salt, to taste

Just mix everything together and let set in the fridge for a few hours so that the seafood is gently ‘cooked’ by the acidity of the citrus.  I really liked the little chunks of lime, but you could absolutely just juice both limes if if you don’t want that much assertive lime flavor.  *note: this dish has partially raw seafood in it, so don’t feed it to pregnant ladies, little babies or frail elderly folks!*

