Tags

, , , , , ,

Howdy folks!  Just a quick post here.  I had a cup of home made pumpkin puree in the freezer, and feeling overwhelmed with the fall-time pumpkin craze, I wanted to make some pumpkin flavored fresh pasta.  I went along with my usual pasta procedure (here’s the post: https://fullbellyfullwallet.wordpress.com/2014/09/17/fresh-herb-tagliatelle-on-fresh-pasta-and-why-you-should-make-some-today/ ) using my pumpkin puree instead of water.

IMG_0869

While the pasta dough turned out very tender and quite tasty, it tasted a lot like normal fresh pasta.  It wasn’t the orange, pumpkin-y pasta of my dreams.

IMG_0871

See? It’s pretty and was absolutely de-lish with some of my Father in Law’s home-smoked bacon, sauteed mushrooms and some freshly grated cheese.

So it’s back to the drawing board I go to make the pump up the pumpkin in my pasta!  At first, I thought this meal was an un-blogworthy failure but then I realized that if you were looking to sneak some vegetables into your family’s diet, this would be a great way to do it!  If I had gullible, vegetable-haters in my life I would totally just tell them it’s colored pasta and sneak a serving of veggies into their pasta!

