Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

As I may have mentioned, I am in the midst of a windfall of fish and I intend on enjoying every tasty bite of this rare and fortuitous situation.  This is what I did with some mixed albacore tuna and salmon leftovers: Sriracha Seafood Sliders  Fireman approved!

IMG_0887

These spicy little tuna and salmon cakes are awesome, and could be used as an appetizer or as part of a main course.  If I were the sort of person who had lots of friends and also wanted them in my house, I think these little guys would be a great component of a ‘Slider Bar’ for party-goers looking for a lighter or non-meat (I’m Italian, fish isn’t really meat.) option.

This recipe is an alteration to my standard ‘fish cake’ recipe that I used with halibut last.  https://fullbellyfullwallet.wordpress.com/2012/11/16/halibut-cakes-with-dijonaise-dipping-sauce/  I pretty much swiched from only celery to half celery and half onion in the vegetable department, and swapped scallions for cilantro in the herb department.  And added a ton of Sriracha hot sauce.

Loooove the cock-sauce!

Loooove the cock-sauce!

Sriracha Seafood Cakes

Serves 3-4 – cost approx $.50 per serving

Ingredients

  • 1 lb cooked seafood, flaked – use whatever mild fish you like best when is goes on sale.  This is a great use of leftover seafood.  ($0 if you befriend a fisherman!)
  • 2 ribs celery, very small dice ($.21)
  • 1/2 onion, very small dice ($.25)
  • 2 Tbs cilantro, minced ($.12)
  • 2 Tbs parsley, minced ($.12)
  • 4 Tbs mayonnaise
  • 3 eggs ($.35)
  • salt and black pepper – to taste
  • pinch paprika
  • pinch onion powder
  • Sriracha! – to taste ($.25)
  • 1 cup bread crumbs, divided use ($0 for home made!)
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil ($.17)

Preheat the oven to 350 F.  Mix all ingredients in the first section.  Add half a cup of bread crumbs to thicken the mixture, it should just hold together.

IMG_0882

Heat the oil over medium high heat in a heavy saute pan.  Place the remaining half a cup of bread crumbs on a plate.  Form a ball of the seafoody mixture about the size of a tangerine or racket ball (I find fruit and sports balls are easy points of reference for sizes in the kitchen…) and roll in the bread crumbs.  Shape the breaded ball into a patty shape.  I highly recommend making a taster patty so that you know exactly how wonderful you little spice balls are, or if they need a pinch more salt.

Like so!

Like so! Teeny-taster patties!

Gently fry the patties until they are golden on both sides.  Work in small batches as to not crowd the pan and decrease the oil temperature too much.  After frying, remove the patties to a sheet tray and keep warm in the oven while you finish frying the rest of the cakes.

IMG_0890

For slider fixin’s I did:

  • Slider buns/rolls ($.50)
  • 1 sliced avocado ($.99)
  • more hot sauce!
  • lemon pepper mayo ($.50)

Making my overall cost around $1 per serving

