Tags

, , , , , , , ,

The desire for a very orange, pumpkin-y pasta still burns bright in my little rotten heart.  After my last, still rather tasty, failure in the orange-pumpkin-pasta department, I had another go at it.  I realized that, while the outsides of pumpkins are all orange and festive, the insides are really just pale and bland.  Let’s all have a reality check here, as much as we all love to ‘Pumpkin Spice’ up our lives every fall, what we really love about it is the brown sugar and cinnamon.  Butternut squash on the other hand is super orange and rather tasty, the clear winner for my orange pasta.

For this batch of home made pasta, I saved a cup of roasted squash from a recent squash soup and pureed it with a little water.  I used the resulting cup of butternut squash puree in my normal pasta recipe and low and behold, it was glorious!

IMG_0901

Here’s the original pasta post: https://fullbellyfullwallet.wordpress.com/2014/09/17/fresh-herb-tagliatelle-on-fresh-pasta-and-why-you-should-make-some-today/

I separated the pasta into two equal balls and made it two different ways.  The first night I did my usual ‘Kitchen Sink Pasta’ routine of rounding up all the odds and ends in my fridge and making it into pasta.  In there was onion, cabbage, goat cheese, cilantro and a hearty pinch of blackening spice.  Here’s my blackening spice mix recipe: https://fullbellyfullwallet.wordpress.com/2014/06/05/black-macks-heres-to-summer/  Lately, I’ve been hooked on the combination of butternut squash and blackening spice, it’s so good!

IMG_0910Fresh pasta keeps well for a day or two, so on the second day I made tortellini filled with a simple mix of ricotta, shredded smoked gouda and some salt and pepper.  I thawed out some of my beef ragu that I made a while ago and the combination was awesome!  It was hearty and the smoky gouda was really complimented by a rich ragu.  This dish was simple enough to please the younger/pickier crowd, but interesting enough to please those of us with a more adventurous palate.  🙂

IMG_0916Happy Fall everyone!

 

 

