Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I was going to say that I’m a master of turning healthy ingredients into things that are bad for you, (which I am) but when I thought about it I realized that my baked taquito craze isn’t all that unhealthy.  So, go buck-wild!  Destroy a tray of these little suckers without the guilt associated with plowing through a tray full of fried goodies.

IMG_0982

Now that holiday entertaining season is upon us, these are a great make ahead appetizer.  Plus, these little buggers are vegetarian too!  At larger gatherings and when I’m planning out any sort of a party menu I always try to make at least half of the appetizers vegetarian-friendly.  I made a big ol’ batch of these last night and popped some in the freezer.  Stay tuned to see how they thaw/bake.  But, I can attest that cooked ones keep well in the fridge for a day or so and reheat well in the oven.

To be le’honest, I saw the idea for black bean and sweet potato taquitos on pinterest but I developed this recipe entirely by my onesies.

Black Bean and Sweet Potato Taquitos – served with cilantro lime rice, sour cream and salsa

Makes 40 – cost approx $.12 each including fixin’s

Serves 6 as entree – cost approx $1.03 per serving including fixin’s and rice

Ingredients

  • 1 lb sweet potatoes, 3 medium, peeled and small dice – ($.83)
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 2-3 cups cooked black beans – from 1 cup/8oz dry beans, you could use canned too ($.50)
  • 8 oz cream cheese ($.24)
  • 1 jalapeno, minced – optional ($.25)
  • 1/2 cup or 4 oz shredded jack cheese ($.50)
  • salt, to taste
  • 40 corn tortillas ($1.11)
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil or bacon grease, divided use
  • 1 cup sour cream – for dipping! ($.50)
  • 1/2 cup salsa – also for dipping ($.50)

Start off by cooking the black beans if you’re starting from dry beans.  If you’ve got a busy day, a crock pot on low for 4-8 hours is a great way to get your beans cooked while you’re out and about.

Next up, cook those sweet potatoes.  Preheat the oven to 350 F.  Toss the diced sweet potatoes with some salt, a few tbs of vegetable oil and the cumin and chili powder.  Bake on a cookie sheet for 15-20 minutes.

To assemble the filling, mix up the roasted sweet potatoes, cooked and drained black beans, cream cheese, jalapeno, shredded cheese and some salt.

IMG_0978

Now that the filling is all made up, it’s time to assemble.  (I’m holding my imaginary mijolner in an “Avengers Assemble!” sort of a moment here, but I digress…)  Preheat the oven to 400 F.  Keep a pan with a few tablespoons of vegetable oil or bacon grease over medium-low heat and prepare a little assembly station.   I go into more depth on my assembly set-up in my first taquito post if you want to read about it in a little more detail.  ( https://fullbellyfullwallet.wordpress.com/2014/10/30/pulled-pork-taquitos-im-falling-fast/ )

Go ahead with the system of briefly microwaving a few tortillas at a time, dipping one in the pan of warm grease and rolling it up with a few tablespoons of filling.  Set each taquito on a baking sheet.  If we’re being completely honest here, I used the same tray I baked the sweet potatoes on.  Why make more dishes to wash?  Bake for 20 minutes at 400 F or until golden and crisp.

They're so cute!

They’re so cute!

