Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Hello Lovlies!  If you found yourself in the States or in the company of some unruly Americans yesterday, I hope you’ve had a wonderful Thanksgiving!  A holiday based on celebrating decadent food and getting your assembled family members drunk is clearly a great idea.

Here in our household in the mountains, the leftovers have been packaged up and put in the freezer and a big pot of turkey soup and turkey sandwiches are on the docket.  If you’ve stashed up some turkey and mashed potatoes too, be sure to come back around soon, because I’m going to try and share some good recipes with leftovers we’ve all got this time of year.

IMG_1003

For some contrast to heavy fall-fare, I’ve got a recipe today for a quick, fresh and easy seafood marinade that’s super versatile.  It’s got a Thai feel and I think it would be awesome on any white fish fillet and I know it’s great on salmon.  It may also be good on shrimp or even tofu, let me know if you try it!

I knew I was going to have a busy day and used this marinade on some salmon fillets the night before; when I got home from work, all there was to do was sear my fish and put on some coconut rice in the rice cooker.  (I’m hooked on coconut rice these days!  I just substitute a can of coconut milk for some of the water in a pot of plain jasmine rice.)

Thai Seafood Marinade

Good for up to 4 lbs of seafood

Cost approx $2.12

Ingredients

  • 2-4 Tbs yellow or red curry paste ($.50)
  • 1/3 cup hoisin sauce ($.50)
  • 2-3 cloves garlic, smashed
  • 1/2 lime ($.12)
  • 1 inch piece ginger ($.25)
  • 1/4 cup light soy sauce – I prefer a lighter, Chinese soy sauce for marinades and not a heavy and dark soy sauce, like Kikkoman.  It’s like olive oil, use the lighter, cheaper stuff for cooking and marinading and save the more flavorful stuff for drizzling at the table.  ($.50)

Mix all the ingredients, making sure to give that lime a little squeeze and marinade your seafood for 4-24 hours.  A thinner fillet will need less time and a thicker fillet will take more time.  I think that pan searing makes the prettiest piece of fish but if you decide to bake it, it will be just as tasty but but have a rather unappealing and dull brown color.  Trust me, I know from experience.  I haven’t tried broiling but that may be a good option for getting some good color on your seafood before it over cooks.

IMG_0999

