Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Given my summertime obsession with canning, I have a lot of jam hanging around my kitchen. It all just seems like magic to me, as stupid as it is, I feel like a freakin’ wizard. “Behold, peasants! With the ancient magic of the Old Gods, I have turned these berries which are only perfect for a few days into something that will be delicious for years!” (On a related note, that’s exactly how I feel about knitting…) Anyway, my fireman loves sweets, I like to try to come up with ways to use jam in my baked goodies.

Peanut butter and jelly is such a classic combination. Those peanut butter cookies were just begging to get a little jam action, and I am just the girl give it to them. Here’s where you can imagine me, trying to make a sultry and alluring face, but actually looking like a class-A creeper.

IMG_0049

Peanut Butter and Jelly Cookies

These cookies are delicious as cut out cookie, like the ones I made today, or a ‘jam thumbprint’ type of cookie.  I did a batch of those a few weeks ago and they turned out super tasty, but not nearly as photogenic as these guys.  And with Festivus fast approaching, the urge to bust out my cookie cutters was too strong to fight.

I actually don’t have a recipe for this one, just a method. Just replace half of the butter in whatever sugar cookie recipe you like best (the sort of recipe that makes a good cookie that holds it’s shape when baked) with peanut butter.  I used Williams and Sonoma’s ‘Chocolate Dipped Conversation Hearts’ recipe, it’s a good cookie that tastes a little like shortbread mixed with a sugar cookie.

Chill your dough and roll it out thin, 1/8″-1/4″ and cut out an even number of cookies.  Using a smaller cookie cutter, cut out a window in the center of half the cookies.  This would be a great place to use one of those cute sets of cookie cutters with various sizes of the same shapes.  If you don’t have those, you can cut out a window with a large pastry tip, that’s what I did!

Bake your cookies, but half way through put a spoonful of jam on your solid cookies and finish baking.  Let cool on a rack and gently press the window cookies on to the solid, jammy cookies to make a gooey, peanut butter and jelly sandwich  cookie.  I bet you feel a little bit like a wizard too…

