I’m not feeling particularly chatty today, so I’ll just get to it.  Last week was pretty crazy for me and I really needed something quick and easy to put on the table at the end of the day and this spicy, Asian-flavored glaze really fit the bill.  I made up a larger batch earlier in the week and basted it over some broiled salmon (yum!) and then used the rest of it to make some sauteed shrimp for a noodle bowl.  I really liked how this dinner was warm and satisfying but full of exciting flavors, all for a truly minimal effort on my part.  I think I’ll put this one in the win column.

 

I imagine that this marinade/glaze combo would be good on any sort of white meat!  Like little chicken or pork satays, even whatever white fish is on sale; I can tell you that it was awesome on both salmon and shrimp.  Hell, this zesty-ass stuff might even make tofu taste pretty good…

Sriracha Honey Lime Glaze – also good for a marinade

Makes approx 1 cup – cost approx $.91 per batch (I got two meals out of one cup of this marinade)

  • 1/4 cup honey ($.33)
  • 1/4 cup Sriracha sauce ($.23)
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce ($.10)
  • juice of one lime ($.25)

Shrimp Noodle Bowls 

Serves 4 – cost approx $1.49 per serving

  • 1/2 lb shrimp – peeled and deveined ($2.50 – I got a good deal and stocked up!)
  • 1/2 cup Sriracha Honey Lime Glaze ($.46)
  • 1 large package glass noodles – they’re sometimes called vermicelli noodles or mung bean noodles, I think.  The little clear bundles that soften up when you pour hot water over them.  I boiled my shrimp shells and poured the shrimpy water over my noodles for a little extra flavor.  ($1.50)
  • Shredded vegetables – I used cabbage, carrots and bell pepper because it’s winter and that’s all I had.  Cucumber, sprouts, or ice berg lettuce would all be good summer time additions! Hey, if you’re truly short on time, a package of un-dressed coleslaw would work here too.  ($1)
  • Herbs – I used cilantro and mint.  ($.25)
  • 1/4 cup toasted, chopped nuts – peanuts or cashews would be tasty, I used the peanuts ($0, my fireman brings me home some of his snacks from fire camp in the summers…)

Fixin’s!

I started by putting my shrimp in the marinade first so that they could soak up some flavor while I prepped all the other ingredients.  Then, I just sauteed them, marinade and all, which makes a nice little sauce to drip into the noodle bowls.  Start with some noodles in your bowl then add whatever veggies you like and top with the shrimp and some toasted nuts!  Easy money.   

